International Cooperation

Scope and objectives

Ukraine has implemented extensive scientific and technology cooperation with the countries of the world to raise the quality of the national scientific research and technologies that are produced basing on this research as well as integration of the Ukrainian scientific potential into the European and world research areas. The foreign policy of Ukraine is to ensure support of the Ukrainian science, culture and education and saving of intellectual potential as well as full value development of all fields of the Ukrainian culture, acceleration of the national renaissance and development of free cultural and humanitarian exchange with the countries of the world.

The legislation of Ukraine provides favourable conditions for international science and technology cooperation.

Thus, in particular, the Law of Ukraine “On Science and Technology Priorities” (with amendments of 2010) defines legal and organizational principles of the complex system of formation and implementation of the science and technology priorities in Ukraine for the period up to 2020.

Cooperation with EECA countries

Ukraine concluded agreements on science and technology cooperation with 11 EECA countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The agreements define specific areas in which scientific potential on the bilateral level can be used most effectively.

Cooperation with EU-member states and associated countries

The policy drive for the EU-Ukraine science and technology co-operation includes the following:

  • European Neighborhood Policy
  • EU-Ukraine Association Agreement
  • Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation

The current legal basis of the EU-Ukraine relations is laid down by “The Partnership and Co-Operation Agreement between the European Communities and Their Member States and Ukraine” from 14 June 1994 (in force since 1 March 1998), which initiated the cooperation on political, economic and trade, and humanitarian issues.

The Law of Ukraine "On Ratification of the Agreement by Exchange of Notes on Renewal of the Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation between the European Community and Ukraine" was adopted in November 2011. The agreement renews the Agreement of July 4, 2002 signed in Copenhagen, which confirms importance of science and technology for the economic and social development of both Parties.

Association Agreement includes the part related to science and technology which provides for the following:

  • renew and activate the EC-Ukraine S&T cooperation agreement, in order to enhance the participation of Ukrainian research entities in Framework Programme;
  • use the available tools (S&T agreement, INCO-Nets) in order to prepare for a possible association of Ukraine to the Research Framework Programme;
  • Ukraine to promote the activities of the ICT National Contact Points and involve the private sector in the research cooperation.

Ukraine has S&T cooperation agreements with more than 50 countries, including the EU member-states and associated states. In particular, there are intergovernmental S&T cooperation agreements with the following 17 EU countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain.

Source: NIP
Last update: December 2014


  • Country Report 2014: Ukraine

    [PDF - 420.9 kB]

    (Source: NIP, partly updated: February 2015) (URL:


  • The National Information Centre for Ukraine-EU S&T Cooperation (NIP)

    • 180 Gorkiy street
    • Kyiv, 03680 Ukraine
    • Telephone: +380 44 5290332
    • Fax: +380 445290332
    • Email Address:
    • Homepage: