Here you will find structured and annotated starting points for related projects and important organisations as well as EU links concerning research cooperation. This page will not be updated after the completion of the BILAT-UKR*AINA project on 30 June 2015.

International OrganizationsEU-Ukraine links | EU links | Cooperation Internet Guide

International Organizations

On 25 June 1992, the Heads of State and Government of eleven countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine signed in Istanbul the Summit Declaration and the Bosphorus Statement giving birth to the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC). With the entry into force of its Charter on 1 May 1999, BSEC acquired international legal identity and was transformed into a full-fledged regional economic organization: Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation. With the accession of Serbia and Montenegro in April 2004, the Organization’s Member States increased to twelve.

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is composed of 18 Member States: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. They embrace a territory of 2.4 million square kilometres and a population of nearly 260 million. As of 1st January 2007,  the CEI has 9  EU and 9 non-EU Member Countries (the newly enlarged EU region is marked in yellow).

EARMA was founded in Genova , Italy, in January 1995 to promote the effectiveness of European research. EARMA aims to become the leading organisation improving the effectiveness of research management and administration in Europe. EARMA is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to: Continually improve the quality of research management and administration; Set high professional standards by effectively supporting its members; Promote the interests of its members at all times; Influence relevant European policies by utilizing the invaluable experience of its members.

The International Association for the Promotion of Cooperation with Scientists from the New Independent States of the Former Soviet Union was established in 1993 to finance cooperation activities in fundamental and applied research. The EC decided to discontinue INTAS at the end of FP6. The former website domain is now in commercial use not related to the original organisation.
(link removed)

The International Centre for Scientific and Technical Information is an International organization, set up on February 27th, 1969 under the provisions of an Intergovernmental Agreement on the Establishment of the International Centre for Scientific and Technical Information. As of 2008 ICSTI comprises 22 member states.

The Science and Technology Center in Ukraine (STCU) is an intergovernmental organization dedicated to the prevention of the proliferation of expertise related to weapons of mass destruction (WMD). The STCU vision: for a safer and better world, to assist former WMD experts in the transition to self-supporting, peaceful activities in the international science and business communities. Since 1993, private companies and government agencies from the European Union, United States, and Canada have used the STCU to manage over 1,100 R&D projects, worth over 166 million dollars.

[back to top]

EU-Ukraine links

Delegation of the European Commission  to Ukraine
The European Union is Ukraine's largest trading partner. At the last EU-Ukraine Summit  both sides welcomed the closer co-operation achieved with the framework of the EU-Ukraine Action Plan and looked forward to a further deepening of the relationship. This website offers an insight into the current state of EU-Ukraine cooperation and into EU policies towards Ukraine, including relevant documents and further information.

[back to top]

EU links

Community Research and Development Information Service CORDIS
CORDIS, the Community Research and Development Information Service for Science, Research and Development offers interactive web facilities meant to link researchers, policymakers, managers and key players in the field of research. In the past, it was also the web portal that published FP7 calls. This changed in 2011, when the new Participant Portal was launched.

EECA Gateway on Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) research and development
This gateway aims to promote cooperation between research and industrial communities of the EECA region by providing information about three European Union (EU) funded projects whose goal is to boost strategic partnerships between ICT actors.

ERAWATCH® provides information on national research policies, structures, programmes and organisations. The aim of this service is to support policy making in the research field in Europe, by facilitating a better knowledge and understanding of national research systems, policies and the environments in which they operate. Currently 43 countries are covered. With the service's evolution regional and other coverage is expected to increase over time.

Three cooperating INCO-NETs, WBC-INCO.NET, SEA-EU-NET and IncoNet EECA will contribute to the development of a common database on relevant national and international science policies and programmes tackling global issues such as climate change. The topic of research dealing with the topics of climate mitigation and adaptation has been chosen initially, further "global issues" will follow depending on the success of this first initiative.

Participant Portal
The European Commission's new Participant Portal became the single authoritative website for the publication of FP7 calls in 2011. Calls are no longer published on CORDIS. The Participant Portal is now the entry point for electronic administration of EU-funded research and innovation projects, and hosts all services for managing proposals and projects throughout their lifecycle. Currently the portal covers mainly actions under the 7th EU-Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (FP7). In the future, its coverage will be extended to other programmes in the area of research and innovation.

Specific International Scientific Cooperation Activities (INCO)
The general objective of international cooperation activities carried out under the current Framework Programme (FP6) is to help open up the European Research Area to the world. These activities focus on the mutually beneficial efforts of the Community and its Member States on the one hand and INCO target countries and other third countries on the other.

Cooperation Internet Guide

This guide provides information on relevant internet links including European Commission sites, list of relevant sites for S&T awareness raising, Web Resources of the EU Funded Projects and International Web Resources. The information has been collected within the BILAT-UKR project.

Link to the document

[back to top]